Your Guide to D.C.-Area Sports on Twitter

deangelo-hall-twitter-photo.jpgIf you’re a Mr. Irrelevant user who’s also using Twitter, then you probably know that Chris (@ChrisMottram) and I (@jamiemottram) are addicted. If you’re not, then this reads like “glops or gloops”, and you should move on, if you haven’t already.

What we have here is a working list of sports-related D.C.-area Twitter feeds, generally ranked by followers. The only merits for inclusion are that they are somewhat fresh and mostly relevant to DMV sports. I also follow most of them myself.

The emphasis is on “working” because I’ve likely missed some folks/sites/organizations. And I’m sure others will pop up in time. And the number of followers will change. Etc. So email me or leave comments with suggestions for inclusion and/or reordering, and I’ll update accordingly.

Your Guide to D.C.-Area Sports on Twitter (ranked by popularity):

  1. Alex Ovechkin [@ovi8]
  2. Chris Cooley [@thecooleyzone]
  3. Randy Foye [@randyfoye]
  4. Washington Capitals [@washcaps]
  5. Mike Miller [@m33m]
  6. Redskins Insider [@RedskinsInsider]
  7. Washington Wizards [@WashWizards]
  8. Dan Steinberg [@dcsportsbog]
  9. Ted Leonsis [@TedLeonsis]
  10. On Frozen Blog [@onfrozenblog]
  11. Devin Thomas [@devinthomas]
  12. DeAngelo Hall [@Dhall23] (pictured)
  13. D.C. United [@dcunited]
  14. Gary Williams [@MDCoachWilliams]
  15. Steven Goff [@SoccerInsider]
  16. Rock the Red [@RockTheRed]
  17. Capitals Insider [@CapitalsInsider]
  18. Seth Greenberg [@HeadHokie]
  19. Rocky McIntosh [@rockym52]
  20. Jim Larranaga [@MasonCoachL]
  21. Patrick Wixted [@pwixted]
  22. MASN [@masnsports]
  23. Truth About It [@Truth_About_It]
  24. Washington Post Sports [@PostSports]
  25. Jack Kogod [@Unsilent]
  26. Lindsay Czarniak [@lindsayczarniak]
  27. American Special Hockey Association [@specialhockey]
  28. Bryan Namoff [@NAMOFF]
  29. Japers Rink [@JapersRink]
  30. Barra Brava [@Barra_Brava]
  31. Matt Terl [@redskinsblog]
  32. Drew Storen [@DrewStoren]
  33. Cat Whitehill [@catwhitehill4]
  34. Federal Baseball [@federalbaseball]
  35. Bullets Forever [@BulletsForever]
  36. Washington Times Sports [@TWTSports]
  37. Cathy Taylor [@misschatter]
  38. Rob Dibble [@Rdibs49]
  39. Washington Kastles [@WashKastles]
  40. Kristen Hudak [@khudak11]
  41. GMU Hoops [@gmuhoops]
  42. Washington Times Baseball [@washtimesbb]
  43. Nationals Pride [@nationalspride]
  44. Right Off Russell [@RightOffRussell]
  45. Rich Tandler [@RealRedskins]
  46. JaVale McGee [@bigdaddywookie]
  47. Rick Maese [@RickMaese]
  48. Lindsay Applebaum [@BonitaApple]
  49. Mike Wise [@MikeWiseGuy]
  50. Sally Jenkins [@sallyjenx]
  51. Capitals Outsider [@CapsOutsider]
  52. We’ve Got Heart [@wevegotheart]
  53. Jarrett Carter [@Jarrett_Carter]
  54. Jon Denunzio [@jondenunzio]
  55. Rich Tandler [@RTandler]
  56. Frank Hanrahan [@980Skinsbeat]
  57. Ryan O’Hallaron [@ryanohalloran]
  58. Hogs Haven [@hogshaven]
  59. Chris Chase [@chaztopher]
  60. Nationals Enquirer [@NatsEnquirer]
  61. Dan Hellie [@dhellie]
  62. John Taylor [@johnmtaylor]
  63. Brett Haber [@BrettHaber]
  64. G-Wiz [@the_real_Gwiz]
  65. Terps Insider [@TerpsInsider]
  66. Half Street [@Half_Street]
  67. Barry Svrluga [@barrysvrluga]
  68. Ben Folsom [@curlyr]
  69. Patrick Stevens [@D1scourse]
  70. Chris Needham [@needham_chris]
  71. Mike Green [@GreenLife52]
  72. Doc Walker [@rickdocwalker]
  73. Joe White [@JosephGWhite]
  74. London Fletcher [@LFletcher59]
  75. LaVar Arrington [@LavarArrington]
  76. Brian Orakpo [@rak98]
  77. Clinton Portis [@26clintonportis]
  78. Russ Thaler [@russthaler]
  79. Phillip Daniels [@ThatBoyPhil93]
  80. Michael Jenkins [@michaeljenk]
  81. Michael Lee [@MrMichaelLee]
  82. John Riggins [@riggo44]
  83. Gary Fitzgerald [@RedskinsDotCom]
  84. Stephen Strasburg [@Strasburg37]
  85. Ralph Friedgen [@CoachFridge]
  86. Thom Loverro [@thomloverro]
  87. Darrell Green [@darrellgreen28]
  88. Kevin Reiss [@kevin_reiss]
  89. Tracee Hamilton [@traceehamilton]
  90. Jason Reid [@JReidPost]
  91. Paul Tenorio [@PaulTenorio]
  92. Jeff Barker [@sunjeffbarker]
  93. Fabricio Oberto [@obricio7]
  94. Brian Oliver [@NFA_Brian]
  95. Jeremy Jarmon [@DoubleJJ99]
  96. 106.7 the Fan [@1067thefandc]
  97. Tarik El-Bashir [@TarikElBashir]
  98. Wizznutzz [@wzzntzz]
  99. Karl Hobbs [@GWCoachHobbs]
  100. GW Sports [@GWGeorge]

Update: We’ve turned this guide into a fancy Twitter list.

11 thoughts on “Your Guide to D.C.-Area Sports on Twitter”

  1. You know I love you, Mayor, but didn’t you abandon your Twitter feed as soon as you’d created it?

    And while we’re here, many thanks to those who’ve alerted me to snubs. The list has been updated. Keep ‘em comin’ …

  2. The American Special Hockey Association, based in DC, has more than 600 followers, which today would place it at #29 on this list. ASHA provides hockey programs for children with disabilities.

  3. Although hated by many of your commenters (and really not mostly sports)

    @odessasteps – Mark Coale, odessa steps magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>